London Marathon 2018: David Weir Wins Eighth London Marathon Men's Wheelchair Title

Britain’s David Weir won his eighth London Marathon men’s wheelchair title in a thrilling sprint finish. 22 April 2018

The six-time Paralympic gold medallist won in one hour 31 minutes 15 seconds with Switzerland’s Marcel Hug second and American Daniel Romanchuk third.

Weir already held the record for most London Marathon wheelchair titles after winning for a seventh time in 2017.

Weir was competing in his 19th London Marathon and has won two more titles than former record holder Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson, who gained six titles in the women’s race.

Weir retired from track racing last year opting to focus on the road and compete in the World Abbott Major Marathons around the world.

He was part of the leading group for all of the 26.2-mile race before sprinting away from two-time champion Hug and Romanchuk on The Mall for victory.

“After Rio, I think last year was a really weird year for me, both mentally and physically,” he said.

“I didn’t really celebrate the seventh win in London, but having that time away and thinking about what I want to do, it helped me fall back in love with the sport again. Coming back this year has been good and I feel strong.

“I feel refreshed and motivated to do the rest of the marathons now. My training over the winter is a lot better and facilities indoors are all set up, which has helped me keep my weight down as well.

“My speed is getting better and I’m still progressing.”

Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson, 11-time Paralympic champion:

‘That sprint finish by David Weir was so perfectly timed.  He smashed over the line, he was going so fast’

‘As they came round the bend, it didn’t look like he would have that kick, but as he saw the finish line he had that final burst.
He was going so fast at the end they didn’t even manage to let go of the tape, his helmet smashed through it.’